Real News is not Media: Our Segment with WeMagazine

Hey everyone I’m back again, and this time we had a chance to talk with the creator of WeMagazine. WeMagazine is an alternative news outlet that gives raw news without biased or skewed opinions. In today’s society the media portrays what they want you to see, ie editing. Therefore it is always great to have a go to alternative media source. WeMagazine is it because it talks about real life issues (race, police brutality, etc.), and real life people. So let’s get into some of those topics and by the end we hope you are team WeMagazine!

Q: Can you please give use your name, background, business name, and business background.

A: I am DeLisha Sylvester, Founder/CEO of Women’s Elevation Magazine. WE Magazine is an online magazine that promotes, elevates, and inspires women.
Q:  What inspired you to develop a news outlet? How does your magazine differ from other media outlets?
A: I was inspired to start WE Magazine because I wanted to give a voice to the voiceless. I wanted to share stories that you wouldn’t necessarily see in the mainstream media. I wanted to give writers a platform to get their work out there. I also wanted to provide a media outlet that was strictly positive. I felt that there were not many media outlets that do that. There aren’t a lot of outlets that don’t report gossip. I get it gossip sells, but how are you feeding the people? How are you feeding their souls? How are you inspiring them?
Q: What is We Magazine? Who are the founders? Why and how did you come up with the idea?

A: I started WE Magazine in 2013, by myself in my living room, and all I had was an idea. I was pushed to do it after the birth of my daughter. I wanted to show her that if mommy can take an idea from her head and go after it, then so could she. From there I just kept growing the business, and incorporating other positive things under its umbrella.

Q: What is the concept of the Naturally Me segment?

A: It started out as a way to promote the concept of loving yourself and defining your own idea of beauty/self-admiration. As time has passed I have incorporated other topics. Inspiration, black lives matter, entrepreneurship, positivity are things that we cover now. I decided to incorporate other topics because I found that I started to have conversations with my followers. Like I would talk with them about real topics; when I sit down to post I am really have conversations with people, and we get real and raw.

Q: From your post we see you were moved by the Sandra Bland case (especially coming from a soror point of view) what are your feelings towards the issue?
A: Well, Sandra Bland was my soror. She was a member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. and just based off of that I had to speak out. We are bonded by our sisterhood whether we know each other personally or not. I had to speak out, and she isn’t the first woman or man that I have spoken out for. I think the thing about it for me is that black women are being killed or mysteriously dying in police custody and people aren’t speaking for them. When a black woman dies the world is silent, and that’s an issue. We have to stand up for ourselves because the media will not show that our lives matter unless we make them. At the end of the day silence is not a part of my makeup so I had to speak out.
Q: How do you stay true to your mission of conversing, inspiring, and encouraging?

A: It’s not very hard to stay true to my mission. I mean, yes I know if I was reporting the latest gossip my platform would have probably skyrocketed by now, but it’s just not me. The point of the brand is to uplift women and inspire the next generation. I can’t do that throwing someone’s business out there, especially when I don’t know them.
Q: Your page post about a lot of racial based social issues and current events; what is your overall stance or outlook on the relationship between Blacks & Whites in America? In what ways do you think your page could help impact on this issue?
A: My outlook is simple – black lives matter. It is up to us to keep reminding people of that. I talk about the issues because how can I ignore them. As a black woman I can’t just ignore it, and I especially can’t ignore us. I have used my platform to share stories that people miss or just don’t know about. I show both sides of the spectrum. I will share a story about the tragedy of Sandra Bland, but I will also showcase the positive sides of black people as well. The thing about it is that we shouldn’t have to tell the media and the people of this country that we matter, but we do. Why? Because the idea that we never mattered is a part of this country’s foundation.
Q: Why is it important to have an avenue separate from the mainstream media to talk about these issues?
A: The media is all about getting ratings. They want those likes and retweets, so they are not always going to report on what’s really going on. Even when they do, they do it in a way that sensationalizes the story. Do you really think they would report on the countless black lives being taken if there was no outcry? I mean if it wasn’t for the people many of these stories wouldn’t even get traction.
Q: Do you have any upcoming projects you want people to look out for? 

A:We are bringing back our WE Rock awards in 2016. It’s something we did in 2013 where we honored women making a difference in their communities. We are also working on another project that provides women coming together by sharing their stories.

Q: Where and how can people purchase your magazine?
A: People want to purchase the magazine can go to our website http://www.womenselevationmagazine.com/buy-now.
I hope you enjoyed our talk with Delisha, the creator of WeMagazine. If you found interest, or are passionate about any of these topics again you can purchase the magazine at http://www.womenselevationmagazine.com/buy-now. Also you can follow WeMagazine on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter @naturallymewemagazine! Be informed by something real. Tune in on Wednesday to here what the Kaotik Poet has to say!

Leave a Reply

